Pizza or sometimes referred to as pizza pie, in its original form, is a flat, oven-baked typically circular bread that is covered in cheese, tomato sauce and optional toppings. Often mozzarella cheese is put on it or a combination of different cheeses like romano, parmesan, feta and ricotta.
What Makes a Kosher Pizza?
- Using kosher cheese only
- Pizza can’t use leaven flour when made for Passover
Other toppings might include:
- Seasonings and herbs like oregano, basil and garlic
- Vegetables like green peppers, bell peppers, eggplant, asparagus, spinach, broccoli, onions, mushrooms or olives
Some ingredients that can’t be used include: seafood, meat, fish products, ham, sausage, salami, pepperoni, ground beef, bacon, pineapple, anchovies and shrimp.
The crust used is typically plain, however it might be seasoned with garlic, butter, stuffed with cheese or herbs. White pizza recipes omit the tomato sauce or replace it with another sauce made with onions, spinach and so forth. Pizza is best served hot and typically eaten this way, however, some like to eat the cold leftovers.
Cheese might be made with rennet or without it which is taken from the slaughtered calf’s stomach tissue. These days more cheese are being made with ‘microbial enzymes’. These are used widely in the industry since they are an inexpensive and consistent coagulant. The term ‘microbial enzymes refers to a coagulant that is synthetically developed. Vegetable rennet is taken from a vegetable source. Cheeses that are soft like cottage cheese and cream cheese are made without rennet. However, some cottage cheeses can have gelatin in them which is taken from animal sources, therefore it’s important that you read labels carefully.
The law of kemach yashan is observed and people abide by it while making the dough. Kemach yashan states that when making dough, the grain used must have taken root prior to Passover of the current year. Israel’s people follow this law strictly, but the Jews are not always required to follow it in some other countries.
About Our Kosher Pizza Aventura
When making a kosher pizza and all ingredients used have been deemed to abide by kosher laws, you end up with a kosher pizza. There are two other obvious but very important rules that must be followed when you make kosher pizza. The first is that you cannot cook kosher pizza during Shabbos (The Sabbath). The second is meat and dairy can never be mixed together. Therefore, a kosher pizza can have sauce and cheese on it, but no meat. Even though you can’t add meat on a kosher pizza, you can still spice it up. Try and add some of those spices and herbs mentioned already or different types of cheese. You can even chop up some vegetables like onions, olives or mushrooms. Get creative, but always abide by kosher laws and you will have yourself a fantastic, delicious kosher pizza.
Contact us or come in for a kosher pizza Aventura restaurant you will love. We have many to choose from or create your own kosher pizza Aventura by selecting the topics you’d like on it.