There are many important factors that are required when making kosher pizza. Let’s take a look at some of the most common.
The biggest concern is that the cheese being used for making kosher pizza has to be kosher. For the cheese to be kosher, a Jewish person who knows about the kosher law must supervise the entire process of the cheese being made. Rennet must also be included in the cheese making process and must be added by a Jewish person.
Rennet is thought to be a crucial ingredient in kosher cheese since it’s known as an animal-based product. It’s an enzyme obtained from the animals fourth stomach lining, often from a calf that has never eaten or consumed anything but milk. In order for rennet to be thought of as usable, the animal should have been slaughtered and processed within Jewish kosher law. The reason why Jewish people are supposed to add the rennet while making kosher cheese is to ensure that only kosher rennet is being used. Just a tiny amount of rennet is added to milk to make sure that kosher law is not broken when it comes to mixing dairy and meat.
When making kosher pizza, additionally, there is another requirement which often seems less of an obvious concern, and concerns the dough which must abide by the Kemach Yashan law. This law states that when making the dough, the grain being used has to have taken root before Passover of the current year. Israel strictly follows this law, but the Jews in other countries do not have to abide by this law.
Ingredients are also regulated when it comes to kosher pizza and is usually about how they are combined. An important kosher rule states that dairy and meat must never be combined. So, the kosher pizza will have cheese and tomato sauce on it, but no meat. Additional ingredients like spices and herbs and vegetables and mushrooms can also be used freely.
Therefore if you’re looking to make kosher pizza you must ensure you are only using ingredients that are kosher and combining them in a way that adheres to the Jewish laws. If you’re looking for a couple slices of pizza only and don’t wish to make it yourself, you can always visit one of the many kosher pizzerias around and be certain the pizzas are made within the Jewish laws of kosher.
Come by our restaurant for genuine kosher pizza. You will find that it is much easier to visit us than it is to make your own pizza. We specialize in kosher pizza, so you will know that if you decide to dine with us, you are getting what you should get each and every time.
We look forward to serving you!