Yoshon is an ancient Jewish biblical commandment that in recent years has come into play with regard to Kosher pizza. What exactly is the law? Does it truly define whether or not Kosher pizza is, in fact, certified Kosher?
The rule involves the five classical grains of Judaism. They are wheat, barley, rye, spelt and oat. The word “Yoshon” means “old” when referring to grain. This doesn’t translate as “stale,” however. Instead it pertains to Passover. Any grain seed that sprouts after the second day of Passover becomes “new.” The Jewish translation is “chodosh.” Any food item made from it is prohibited until the 16th of Nissan, which is the second day of Passover, of the next year.
This is a difficult concept to accept when it comes to Kosher pizza, and it may not be absolute law for those Kosher Jews living in countries outside of Israel. Different synagogues expect different signs of obedience from their members. In order to be absolutely sure you aren’t disobeying this law, a conversation with a rabbi might be in good order.
What if you’re truly craving Kosher pizza, but the Kosher pizza restaurant can’t guarantee that Yoshon has been observed? Pizza lovers, take heed. There are ways around in that will keep you firmly within the law.
Does your Kosher pizza parlor make a rice crust? In this day and age of wheat sensitivities, many pizza restaurants—both Kosher and non-Kosher have taken to serving different types of pizza crusts. Some are made with rice and some are even made from cauliflower. And while the latter is a bit unusual, both are well within keep true to the Jewish law.