Kosher pizza is simply a pizza that is made which follows the guidelines of kosher law in regards to ingredients and preparation. Kosher law follows Jewish rules and is used strictly by many while some only use it occasionally. It follows how food is prepared so it’s proper for consumption or in other words, if it is ‘clean’ or ‘unclean’. There are many rules, but most refer to how meat is processed, how animals are slaughtered, which foods can be consumed together and which can’t be combined.
Kosher Pizza Aventura FL Pizza Toppings
Kosher Pizza made with dairy products like cheese, can’t have any meat products on it. Some kosher pizza toppings include:
- Cheese – American, Swiss, Goat, Blue, Feta and more
- Spices – Oregano, Basil, Garlic
- Parve Bacon Bits
- Imitation Crab Meat
- Vegetables – Bell peppers, eggplant, green peppers, olives, spinach, asparagus, onions, mushrooms
What Makes a Kosher Pizza?
- Using only kosher cheese
- Pizza that is made for Passover can’t have leaven flour in it
What is Not a Kosher Pizza
Combining both cheese and meat on a pizza is not kosher. Pizza with pork on it or dairy or meat that comes from an animal that was slaughtered improperly is not kosher pizza. Ingredients such as meat, fish products, seafood, salami, sausage, pepperoni, ground beef, pineapple, shrimp, ham, anchovies and bacon cannot be used.
When kosher pizza is prepared, there are a few things that you have to consider. First, is the dough which is the most difficult. When it comes to the kemach yashan law, grains in the flour that is being used for the dough must have rooted prior to Passover for it to be allowed to be consumed. However, although this rule is observed in Israel very strictly, Jewish people in other parts of the world are a little more liberal with it and often avoid it.
Cheese also has kosher rules that are applied to it as well. The general rule is that cheese has to be made by a Jewish person. These days, cheese is factory made by machines therefore the rule has been extended where cheese production must be supervised by a Jewish person in order for it to be considered kosher. Also important in the cheese-making process, rennet must be added by a Jewish person. If the factory is owned completely by Jews, the rules don’t apply. Also important is the origin of rennet. This product which is animal-based as well as the animal it came from must have been slaughtered based on Jewish laws.
Kosher guidelines also regulate how you combine ingredients. For instance, one very vital rule states that you can never combine meat and dairy. So, in order for a pizza to be kosher, it can have cheese and tomato sauce, but no meat. You can however, use other ingredients like spices, herbs, vegetables and mushrooms freely.
If you are looking to make a kosher pizza, you have to ensure the ingredients you use and how you combine them adhere to the Jewish laws. If you are just looking for a tasty slice of pizza but are not feeling up to preparing it yourself, there are various kosher pizzerias around where you can rest assured your pizza is being made based off the kosher laws of the Jewish people.