Kosher food can be very tricky for most to understand unless it is something you have eaten your whole life. There are many rules and regulations that go into the preparation and cooking of kosher foods, so much so that unless you know a Jew personally, some foods cannot properly be prepared. Making a kosher pizza should be easy enough, right? Wrong. The regulations of a kosher pizza are enough to steer a non-Jewish person away from what would normally be a simple recipe.
Starting from the base of the pizza to the top ingredient, regulations must be enforced to meet strict kosher guidelines. Most people would not think that the dough itself needs to be kosher, so what makes it so? In order for the dough to be kosher, it must follow the law of kemach yashan. The grain used to make the dough must have taken root before Passover of the present year. While this law is strictly enforced in Israel, it does not apply to some other countries that Jews reside in.
Cheese, the staple of pizza, must also be kosher. Here is where knowing a Jew comes in handy. The Jewish person must be knowledgeable on kosher laws and has to supervise the cheese making process. The kosher process does not stop there. A small ingredient called rennet has to be added to the cheese to make it kosher. Rennet is an enzyme that is found in the lining of the fourth stomach of an animal. It typically comes from a calf that has not ingested anything other than milk.
If you’re familiar with any kosher laws, you’re aware that meat and dairy cannot be mixed. Don’t fret, there are many seasonings and other toppings you can adorn your kosher pizza with that will make it taste brilliant. You could always add the meat without the cheese if you’re brave enough. Go ahead, step outside of your comfort zone.