In neighborhoods where both vegan pizza and Kosher pizza are popular restaurant offerings, a debate is underway. Some people believe if pizza is vegan it is also Kosher. Others say that’s simply not the truth. So what exactly is the truth. And why?
According to a recent report, if a vegan restaurant hasn’t been certified Kosher, those Jews keeping Kosher shouldn’t eat there. The following reasons are the most important factors in understanding why.
- The Vegan Society certifies restaurants as vegan allow for a tiny quantity of animal product to be present in the foods they deem as vegan. This animal product may not be present in any quantity in foods that might potentially cross the laws of no meat and no dairy served or prepared on like dishes and with like utensils.
- Some foods must be cooked or baked by a Jew in order to be Kosher.
- If wine or grape juice appear in any of the recipes in the vegan pizza joint, they are likely not Kosher.
This debate has continued for quite some time now, with strict Kosher Jews on one end and vegans on the other. Business surely plays into it, as vegans would love to have Kosher Jews as customers. Some Jews choose to ignore the aforementioned points in favor of of the convenience of popping into the vegan pizza joint for a bite to eat. However if they truly maintain Kosher eating and food preparation practices, they are going against their religion if they consume it.
Vegan pizza and Kosher pizza are both delicious. If you keep Kosher, however, you need to make sure your pizza parlor is certified Kosher, as there are distinct differences.